“Early Bird” is an international festival for students of film arts who wish to present their films to colleagues and worldwide audience sharing knowledge and skills and challenging the world.

“Early Bird” is the only forum for students’ films and was created by the American Foundation for Bulgaria in 2005. After its second edition the festival became international with the participation of film academies and schools from the Balkans. Later the festival attracted film students from all around the world to participate in the competition program.

The main goal of the festival is to provide the audience the opportunity to meet closely with art, ideology and aesthetics of young filmmakers. For participating teachers and students the festival is a platform for exchange of experience and ideas, providing opportunities for additional training through master classes and workshops.

Traditionally, the festival includes international competition program, an educational module and additional screenings of new Bulgarian professional films and selections of partnering festivals and organizations. Official guests and jury members with outstanding professionalism participated in the festival during the years and among them are Emil Hristov, Teddy Moskov, Rangel Valchanov, prof. Rolf Ortel (Austria), prof. Maria Dora Mourão (Brazil), prof. Zviad Dolidze (Georgia), Oscar award winners Ronald Harwood (for best adapted screenplay for the film “The Pianist”) and Scott Hiller, British scriptwriter Roger Gregory and his US colleague John Bernstein, two-time Oscar award winner Florian Gallenberger and many others. Over 600 films from all around the world were screened during the festival editions.

The International Student Film Festival “Early Bird” is organized by the “Early Bird” Association and the American Foundation for Bulgaria in partnership and with the support of the Foundation “America for Bulgaria” and Jameson.

In 2014 “Early Bird” celebrates its tenth anniversary edition, which will present to the audience 122 student films from 37 countries. The international jury will distribute the prize of 4100 USD in ten categories.